Ga naar inhoud

‘Endureth All Things,’ as the Outcome May Surprise You

Joachim

• Administrators
understand, outcome, diet, motivation, mental diligence, unexpected, numbers, keep moving, family memories, anxiety, medical team, dare, simple pleasures, improvement

“Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.” – 1 Corinthians 13:7

I have lived by this Bible verse for a long time. I really embraced it when I was in high school.

For the most part, I was a good student, average by some measures, but I hung in there despite all the obstacles I faced. 

In my senior year, I was on the verge of failing math, which prompted the possibility that I wouldn’t walk with the rest of my class. I buckled down and really focused on doing my best to catch up. Even my mother noticed how hard I was working. 

Eventually, I came clean and told her what was going on. At first, she was mad at me, but I told her what kind of teacher I had and how a lot of kids were in the same situation.

As graduation day got closer, I wasn’t doing that much better. I really tried, and my mom saw that I was. Finally, it all came down to my mom going to the school for a meeting about my graduation. Then it hit me: I knew I was dead!

Let the games begin

After her meeting with the teacher, we had a “discussion” about the meeting and my efforts. Much to my surprise, she wasn’t mad at me. She saw for herself that the teacher took pleasure in failing students, especially seniors, knowing that the grade affected their graduation possibilities.

I could tell she was very disgusted with the teacher and the meeting. She told me to keep trying and applying myself. Don’t buckle to his threats, she said. Don’t allow him to determine my outcome or my future.

In the end, I failed math. I also graduated and walked with the rest of my class. Apparently, my other grades made the difference. I graduated with a big “F” on my final report card.