Ga naar inhoud

Chronic Illness Makes Me Feel Like I’m Aging Prematurely

Joachim

• Administrators
banner image for "Float Like a Buttahfly," a column by Kerry Wong, depicting a butterfly winding through the sky

The other day I picked up my new glasses — a pair of bifocals, because my doctor said that progressive lenses would worsen my dizziness and vertigo. The same day, I was discharged from physical therapy because my insurance company didn’t see enough progress. Since every other treatment has failed (or been denied), my next step is likely a hip replacement. With that combination of events, there’s no denying it: I’m officially old.

But I’m not, really. I’m 47. I suppose “old” is a relative term: When I was young, I thought nearing 50 was old; now, I imagine decades ahead of me. What I’ve been saying for the past 10 years, as symptoms of sarcoidosis and other illnesses have taken hold, is, “I’m too young to be this old.”

Chronic illness can have a way of aging us prematurely. I’ve joked that while many people dread turning into their parents as they get older, I’ve skipped over my mom to become my grandmother. I hear her voice when I cry, “Oy vey!” as I attempt to stand, and I think of her as my joints snap, crackle, and pop. She was a phenomenal woman in myriad ways, but this is not how I want to be like her.

It happens with memory, too. We often refer to this as brain fog, and some call it a “senior moment.” It’s more than just forgetting a date on the calendar or an item on our to-do list. We can forget what we’re saying — even while we’re saying it. I once asked my mother, “Was I just about to say something else, or did I already say something else?” And of course, I couldn’t remember what else I’d meant to say.