Ga naar inhoud

What I Learned From Reading ‘The Greatest Salesman in the World’

Joachim

• Administrators
banner image for "No Tears for Sarcoidosis" by Charlton Harris

“Who is of so little faith that in a moment of great disaster or heartbreak has not called to his God? Who has not cried out when confronted with danger, death, or mystery beyond his normal experience or comprehension? From where has this deep instinct come which escapes from the mouth of all living creatures in moments of peril?”

Five years ago, when I spent two months in the hospital because of a spontaneous pneumothorax (a collapsed lung), I read “The Greatest Salesman in the World” (1968), from which I quote above. Its author, Og Mandino, has written several books that I’ve read, but this one I especially enjoyed. It focuses on leadership skills, but it also teaches character building and humility. That’s my takeaway.

While absorbing the book’s knowledge, I started practicing some of its principles of character building. This wasn’t the first book I’d read on the subject. Back in the ’80s, I took the Dale Carnegie Effective Communications and Human Relations course. At that time, I was selling high-end video production systems, and this course was mandatory for me and the sales reps I worked with.

I’ll admit it was difficult to start “Greatest Salesman” while I was worrying about my health and trying to get back to my normal. I finally bit the bullet and started reading, and Mandino’s words began to make sense to me.

“Greatest Salesman” taught me that much depends on how we talk to people and not so much on what we have to say. I remember addressing every nurse as “Ms. (insert name).” Even though they insisted I call them by their first name, I always addressed them properly.